Welcome to Jean-Louis Berthod's website !

" I have difficulties in dreaming in front of concrete and cars, then, I sculpt and I paint. Every human being has a mode of expression of his own. The artist, him, opens bigger the door and he exposes himself a little more than the others "


Expo 17 novembre

Agricultural mechanic then automobile mechanic for more than forty years, Jean-Louis Berthod always had a passion for the wood carving, a passion he practiced in parallel as amateur sculptor. At the beginning of the eighties, he begins with small realizations, being sometimes inspired by famous works like one of the nymphs of "the Fontaine des Innocents" in Paris, realized by Jean Goujon or still "The Flora", the famous fresco found around Pompeii.

At the end of this decade and during numerous years, Jean-Louis Berthod takes the step and starts sculptured woodworks of bigger size. These are bas-reliefs sculptured in themes, among these we shall note "The sleeper in the Valley" inspired by Arthur Rimbaud's poem, "Prévert's Song" influenced by Serge Gainsbourg's song or still "The Empty Chair" in tribute to the sculptor of Rumilly (Haute-Savoie), Robert Ramel.

In the second part of the nineties, Jean-Louis Berthod tries his gift in religious art by contributing to the restoration of the Church of Albens (Savoy/France), repairing sculptured friezes but especially by realizing two impressive furnitures: the altar of the Church on the theme of "Calming the storm" as well as the ambon on the theme of "the Christ Sower". We can also note the realization of a second altar sculpted for a chapel, a copy of a mosaic that we find in Jerusalem.

A that time, Jean-Louis Berthod goes to the higher level in the realization of his bas-reliefs, sculpting them in even bigger dimensions. Childhood memories, boards dedicated to the rural life such as it was formerly and its evolution nowadays, "The Renaissance", such are the main themes of these bas-reliefs. We shall also note a tribute to the victims of the World War I through his board "Meaulnes The Great", inspired by the novel of Alain-Fournier.
Meanwhile, Jean-Louis Berthod realized some sculptures on themes such as
"The air", "The sound", "The water", "The movement", etc. …

Finally, Jean-Louis Berthod, over the years, also showed certain talent for the drawing by making numerous pastels inspired by memories ; we shall note his series of pastels dedicated to the rural life of former times.
And many other works of the artist to discover by browsing the website! Enjoy your visit!

Bienvenue sur le site internet de Jean-Louis Berthod !

« J'ai du mal à rêver devant le béton et les voitures, alors, je sculpte et je peins. Chaque être humain a un mode d'expression qui lui est propre. L'artiste, lui, ouvre la porte plus grande et s'expose un peu plus que les autres »

Page accueil jean louis berthod
Jean-Louis BERTHOD devant ses bas-reliefs "Racines"

Mécanicien agricole puis automobile durant plus de quarante ans, Jean-Louis Berthod a toujours eu une passion pour la sculpture sur bois, passion qu’il a exercée en parallèle en tant que sculpteur amateur. Au début des années quatre-vingt, il commence par de petites réalisations, s’inspirant par moments d’œuvres célèbres comme une des nymphes de ‘’la Fontaine des Innocents’’ à Paris, réalisée par Jean Goujon ou encore la ‘’Déesse Flora’’, fameuse fresque retrouvée aux abords de Pompéi.

A la fin de cette décennie et pendant de nombreuses années, Jean-Louis Berthod franchit le pas et s’attaque à des tableaux sculptés de taille plus grande. Ce sont des bas-reliefs sculptés à thèmes, parmi ceux-ci on notera ‘’Le dormeur du Val’’ inspiré par le poème d’Arthur Rimbaud, ‘’La chanson de Prévert’’ influencée par la chanson de Serge Gainsbourg ou encore ‘’La Chaise Vide’’ en hommage au sculpteur de Rumilly (Haute-Savoie), Robert Ramel.

Dans la seconde partie des années quatre-vingt-dix, Jean-Louis Berthod se prend au jeu de l’art religieux en contribuant à la restauration de l’Eglise d’Albens (Savoie), réparant des frises sculptées mais surtout en réalisant deux imposants mobiliers : l’autel de l’Eglise sur le thème de ‘’la tempête apaisée’’ ainsi que l’ambon sur le thème du ‘’Christ Semeur’’. A noter également la réalisation d’un second autel sculpté pour une chapelle, sur le modèle d’une mosaïque que l’on retrouve à Jérusalem.

A cette période, Jean-Louis Berthod passe au stade supérieur dans la réalisation de ses bas-reliefs, les sculptant dans des dimensions encore plus grandes. Souvenirs d’enfance, des tableaux dédiés au monde paysan tel qu’il était autrefois et son évolution de nos jours, "la renaissance'', tels sont les thèmes principaux de ces bas-reliefs. On notera également un hommage aux victimes de la première Guerre Mondiale à travers son tableau ‘’Le Grand Meaulnes’’, inspiré par le roman d’Alain-Fournier.
Parallèlement, Jean-Louis Berthod a réalisé quelques sculptures sur des thèmes tels que
‘’L’air’’, ‘’Le son’’, ‘’L’eau’’, ‘’Le mouvement’’, etc…
Enfin, Jean-Louis Berthod, au fil des années, a également montré un talent certain pour le dessin en effectuant de nombreux
pastels tirés de souvenirs ; on notera sa série de pastels dédiée au monde paysan d’antan.
Et bien d'autres oeuvres de l'artiste à découvrir en parcourant le site ! Bonne visite à tous !